Cast-onitis relapse

I was doing so well at the beginning of the year. I cast-on a project or two and worked on it until it was done, most of the time. This is unusual behaviour for me. I am the queen of starting, not so much the queen of finishing. Recently, I have reverted to my old, bad habits. Shakes head in shame and disillusionment.

In my last post, I mentioned how I had started a bunch of new projects again. I was taking steps to cure my cast-onitis or at least diminish its symptoms. Things improved slightly for a few days and then I had a relapse. In a BIG way.

On the other hand, I have finished three projects: one a large knit fingering weight shawl I designed, one a relatively quick crocheted shawl and a quick and easy crochet scarf.

My Hy Shawl. I designed this large shawl to wrap all the way around me and sit securely on my shoulders. It is based vaguely on hydrangeas. That design was, in turn inspired by the colours of the yarn.

My Isisisis shawl, in a vibrant yarn that just jumped into my cart and followed me home.

And much of the leftover yarn from the Isisisis shawl were used for this fun scarf, ready for giving to the Snowsuit fund next fall.

I also started and finished a swatch for an online class I am taking.

Those are all the finished projects for the last week or two. Great progress, yadda, yadda. Now, the bad news. I have started a few other new projects and rekindled interest and progress on another one. I also bought some yarn. Actually, quite a bit of yarn. Four skeins of Manos Fino. This yarn was supposed to be at my local yarn store in December and I have been waiting very (im)patiently for it ever since. Now, just four months late, it is finally here! I was hoping the colours would be more brilliant, like the Manos Silk Blend colours. However, the single ply yarn is so soft and gushy that it really doesn’t matter. I also bought 2 skeins of Manos Alegria, a sock yarn of merino and polymide (nylon) available in the most gorgeous bright colourways. Some beautiful yarn in what I call “Starry Night” came home with me. It has already begun transforming itself into a shawl.

Of course, I am designing this one on the fly a bit and so am working both in this fabulous yarn and am doing my swatching/planning shawl in a lesser stash yarn. So that is sort of two new projects on the go.

I have also started a project that I have been wanting to do for a long time: random lace. At bedtime, I am listening to an audio book. On right side rows, when the narrator gets to the end of a sentence, I do a yo, k2tog and then I continue knitting until the end of the next sentence. This is a fun relaxing project that may or may not work out. no pressure, just knitting.

My swatch for the online class I am taking has renewed my interest and ability to continue on a project that I had put aside for a while, my Gingham Dreams scarf. With the new way I have learned of holding my yarn, this project is definitely easier to work on than it was and I have been inspired to take it up again.

I am still working on my socks and on my Horai, Horai shawl, though I rarely work on the Horai, Horai at all.

This entry was posted in Crochet, Knitting, Shawl, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment