A Halloween Helmet

Every Labour Day weekend, to celebrate the end of the summer camping season, the community association at the lake put on a big Halloween celebration, complete with trick-or-treating and a costume contest. Everyone decorates their places and there is a wonderful haunted hayride as well. It really is a great way to say goodbye to summer.

A few days ago, I was browsing through Ravelry and come across a great pattern for a Dwarven Battle Bonnet. I bought it and put it into my favourites.

A day or two later, I asked my son what he wanted to be for Halloween at the lake. Being a true lover of Lord of the Rings, he immediately chose “Gimli” the dwarf.  I internally smiled, but also panicked. I am not a fast knitter but I really wanted to get it done for this weekend. I started on Tuesday evening, worked like crazy all day Wednesday and finished it today!!!!

When I gave it to DS, he was so excited. To tell the truth, so was I. I may now have to make a matching one for DH as well.

And a bit more close up:

Originally, I was going to make the hair removable, however, I will just sew it on as it shrank more in length than it did in girth.

It was a fun project to knit and even more fun to give!

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Halloween Helmet

  1. jenyjenny says:

    AWEsome! Love the Gimli helmet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

